Hawes Trail Network Reviews

Hawes Trails

Hawes Trails

Hawes Road Loop is one of the most beautiful trails in the valley. Also, it is one of my favorites. The ride starts with a good warm up on pavement then turns into fast twisting singletrack. The mileage can vary depending on which route you take. Park in Walgreen’s parking lot at the corner of Thomas road and Power road. Ride north on Power. Just as you pass over the canal the trailhead is on your right. There is an opening just before the guard rail starts. I like to ride up the mountain to the abandon mines via Saddleback trail. The view from the top is spectacular. To the East is a view of Four Peaks, to the west is a view of Phoenix and to the North is a view of Red Mountain and the Salt River. The way down on Mine Trail is an excellent technical ride, with steep loose descents and sharp switchback turns. On one of the turns is a Cholla filled mine pit of death. Ouch!


Directions:
Park at the Walgreen’s parking lot at the NW corner of Thomas & Power.
Alterante Parking: There is a dirt lot on the west side of Power road just as you pass over the canal. The trailhead is almost directly across Power road. Just before the guard rail.
Trail Map

Rating:
Skill: Intermediate
Effort: Easy-Moderate
Type: Loops
Season: Fall, Winter, Spring
Mileage: 13 Miles

Hawes Photos


VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
RATE THIS!
Rating: 9.2/10 (22 votes cast)
Hawes Trail Network Reviews, 9.2 out of 10 based on 22 ratings
About Racerx

An Arizona native, Jeff has been mountain biking and racing since 1997. A father of 2 awesome children Ryder and Skylar. He is the owner of Excelnet Media, an Internet Marketing company.

Comments

  1. Roy Edwards (Cozmic Coyote) says:

    Most of you would not reconize my name but some of the old pioneers of our sport would remember me i put on the first State Chanmpionship Race and first State Championship Series from 1986 till 1992 so this trail is on of “mine” well ours lots of people over the years have built on this trail it has been used as a mtb trail since the mid 80’s,,lots of riding and sweat went into these trails, my brothers and friends and i used them as hunting trails on our mules in the 60’s and 70’s the phone company had put in the road to tower and laid cable and we used to try and climb up it on our stick shift stingrays the the first time i went down these horse trails on a MTB was 1987 on a yellow Schwinn Ned Overend 18spd NO SUSPENSION loved it then and still do i love riding these trails,,,i was tring my new 1993 Schwinn Team Issue on this trial with then MBAA Director Margret Clayton and we got caught in the rain there that morning,,,the washes were running high and then it hailed,,we still smiled…lots of hidden trails out there watch 4 new trail openings in this area fall 2001 and spring 2002.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • He was gone five years before your post but you still told some good stories.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  2. Regina Wetzler says:

    There’s an alternate route to get to Hawes Trail that doesn’t have as much riding on the road. Park at Albertson’s on Power and McDowell. Cross McDowell and head north just below the canal on the west side of it. Follow the trail north as it winds towards Thomas. Pass along the retention area and make a right and pop onto the canal. Turn left on Thomas and pedal up the road and make a U-turn to come back down and get back on the trail. The trail will come out onto Power road across from the sand and gravel pit. Pedal down to Hawes or TRW from here. We call it “Fenceline Trail.” This is a sweet 2.5 mile trail that’s a great warmup and cooldown for Hawes and TRW. Of course, this means riding Hawes from the bottom up which takes more effort, but it’s worth it.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  3. Dan Garrison says:

    TRW is located on the West side of Power Road just above McDowell. TRW is a popular warm-up/cool-down for the Hawes Road Loops on the East side of Power Road. Unfortunately, the trail is now posted “No Trespassing” by the Salt River Pima Maricopa Indian Community. Appears to have been posted some time during Fall ‘02. It isn’t posted at the lower trailhead located in the adjacent residential development, but all of the drop-ins off Power Road are marked. Moreover, almost all of the posted drop-ins now have been trenched (apparently in an effort to hinder access). There also has been some encroachment on the old trail segment on the north side of the hill by the adjacent industrial plant (looks like a fenced equipment yard), forcing you out on the dirt road. Looks like the best option for Hawes access now is the Canal trail or up the pavement from the shopping center.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  4. No one seems to be talking about Twisted Sister that T’s off of the Mine trail? I usually descend the Mine trail and just as you get to the bottom (after your last 180 degree right and through the wash board) go right instead of left (you’d end up here anyway if you loose traction through the wash board). This pops you out onto Bush hwy. Go right (East) on Bush hwy about a mile. You’ll come to a slight rise in the road that curves to your right with a guard-rail. Right where that guard-rail ends you’ll see the start/end to Twisted Sister. It’s fairly gradual climb that levels off toward the end into some fun, slightly technical little rollers. The end result is you’re back basically at the top of the Mine trail for another decent. You overlap a bit but who cares when the overlap in question is a sweet decent.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  5. I don’t think the TRW section of the trail is there anymore. I rode out there this weekend for the first time in a few years. The trails are still awesome and marked very well.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • TRW is still there, its just fenced off at the park entrance. You have to go to what people call the tinto entrance. Its in a cul-de-sac @ 4399 N. Ranier Cir. Mesa, AZ. That will give you access to that end of the trail. otherwise, you can still enter from the power road side of TRW

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  6. I used to ride this trail all the time before the houses got built out there. I thought the houses wiped out the trail, but I’m glad they didn’t even tho the trail comes right into some peoples backyards almost. This is definelty a fun and scenic trail, although it takes a lot of muscle and coordination so I wouldn’t recommend it to a beginner. Very nice trail.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Speak Your Mind

*